Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

snwcmpr
02/23/2019 9:17 AM
Ethiopian natural Gesha today .. tasting it tomorrow.

snwcmpr
02/13/2019 4:49 AM
Thanks again Ginny.

snwcmpr
02/12/2019 3:29 AM
Good morning all. Just finished a few days with Yemen Red Harraz. We liked it.

Husamka
02/11/2019 10:05 AM
probe diameter

Husamka
02/11/2019 10:01 AM
probe dimension

Users Online
Guests Online: 3

Members Online: 2
eglausier, DaddyBo

Total Members: 5,824
Newest Member: blabbermouth
In Memory Of Ginny
Donations

Latest Donations
PRABHATH COFFEE WORKS - 10.00
John Despres (Scene... - 25.00
snwcmpr - 10.00
Ozo - 20.00
Josh Woodrow - 10.00

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
vintage columbian green beans
bvwelch
Greetings,

[ please excuse a newbie if this gets posted twice]

I'm just getting started with home roasting. I purchased some green beans from a local roaster. He recommended "vintage columbian", which is what I purchased. I'm having fun roasting them in my modified air popper from Walgreens. I'll write more about my hardware mods and embedded software in a separate thread if there is any interest.

My questions about these beans-- are they a good choice for a newbie, and what sorts of tasty variations can I realistically expect? I already know plenty about the charcoal end of the scale. :-)

Thanks for any suggestions,

Bill

mehhistory
IMHO, any bean is a good place to start. The rule of thumb is generally that your worst homeroast will be better than most commercial coffees ie. Folgers, Starbucks(*$)
Above all, have fun. Take some kind of notes of your roasting process. Actual or elapsed time from startup to first crack until second crack and beyond if you want. You'll read a lot about monitoring temp but that can probably wait until you get the sight and sounds down.