renatoa - 2.00
JitterzZ - 2.01
renatoa - 2.00

View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Drum Roaster Advice and Discussion
slaserj
Hey guys! New here, but trying to find my way to a well-engineered home-built roaster. I'm a custom motorcycle builder by hobby, and cloud engineer by day, so I'm no stranger to design and fab. However, I understand there are nuances to things like this, and would like to stay on a budget. Trial and error can be substituted for the wisdom of those who have walked this path before me in many cases. With that, here's my plan so far, tell me what I should change:

Heater: Propane, maybe a "sheet burner" like this:
i.ytimg.com/vi/A9J6XUxASv4/maxresdefault.jpg This is a Deidrich burner, where would I even begin?
Valving: Needle bypass and solenoid for high-low function control
Drum: Stainless, 8". Could this work? https://www.amazon.com/San-Jamar-L360C-Large-Stainless/dp/B003UUTMQ0/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=stainless+trash+chute&qid=1570725795&sr=8-4
If not that, where can I find a stainless pipe for something like this? Aiming for 1/8inch or a little thinner for profiling.
Front and Back: 8mm aluminum plate, laser cut and beveled by contacts at a local machine shop
Inlet: Stainless plate hopper, with tube to cyclone behind the roaster
Motor: Nema46 LARGE stepper motor with controller: I had this lying around, this level of speed control should be fun
Other things to be figured out later on.

Glad to be here, looking forward to learning!

renatoa
Welcome

Are we talking about a ceramic burner like this?

http://www.induce...rner-plate

slaserj
Yep, after some research I’m finding that they’re pretty generic grill-dear infrared elements. Would this be suitable for a solid drum? My other option is a pipe burner, or a pipe with 3-4 small Venturi heads tapped into it and pointing up.

renatoa
Infrared seems like a gentler heat transfer method than a direct flame...
Edited by renatoa on 10/10/2019 8:43 PM

Want to Help?